Plaque

Bishop Wood’s Almshouses

Erection date: 1930

Inscription

Bishop Wood’s Almshouses
Erected and endowed by Dr Thomas Wood, sometime Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry, born in the Parish of Hackney 1607 and died 1692.
The Almshouses and chapel were restored by the Trustees, AD 1930.

The Revd N. A. Lash MA - Chairman, Rector of St John at Hackney
Sir D. T. Keymer OBE - Hon Treasurer
William Voss - Clerk
H. Reginald Ross - Architect

Good to know they still haven't caught Bill Stickers.

Site: Bishop Wood’s Almshouses (1 memorial)

E5, Lower Clapton Road

2016: These almshouses are on the Heritage at Risk register. Grade II Listed, the entry says: " Late C17 U-shaped range of single-storey almshouses, much restored."

In 1906 the Charity Commissioners approved a scheme whereby Bishop Wood's Almshouses were to be administered by the Trustees of Dr Spurstowe's Charity.

In our photo the lady in red and her partner are struggling to carry their Christmas tree home.  28 November - too early, surely!

Comments are provided by Facebook, please ensure you are signed in here to see them

This section lists the subjects commemorated on the memorial on this page:
Bishop Wood’s Almshouses

Subjects commemorated i

Sir D. T. Keymer

Hon Treasurer of the Committee to restore Bishop Wood's Almshouses in 1930. ...

Read More

Rev. N. A. Lash

Hon. Sec, to the Strangers Home for Asiatics, Africans & South Sea Island...

Read More

H. Reginald Ross

Architect for the restoration of Bishop Wood's Almshouses in 1930.  Designed ...

Read More

William Voss

Clerk of the Committee to restore Bishop Wood's Almshouses in 1930.  Clerk to...

Read More

Bishop Thomas Wood

Born in the Parish of Hackney. He seems to have been a bad boy: Ejected from ...

Read More

Nearby Memorials

Sutton Heritage mosaic plaque

Sutton Heritage mosaic plaque

SM1, Trinity Square

The Sutton Heritage mosaic was unveiled by the Worshipful the Mayor of the London Borough of Sutton Councillor Frank Sharp CENG FIEE 23rd...

2 creators
Rossetti & Swinburne

Rossetti & Swinburne

SW3, Cheyne Walk, 16

Rossetti kept a menagerie in his back garden, much to the annoyance of his neighbours. It included a bull, a white peacock, a kangaroo, a...

2 subjects commemorated, 1 creator
Charles Melville Hays

Charles Melville Hays

EC3, Lombard Street, 57 - 59, St Edmund the King Church

A.M.D.G. stands for Ad Maiorem Dei Gloriam (For the greater glory of God). It is the motto of the Society of Jesus (Jesuits).

2 subjects commemorated, 1 creator
Notcutt House

Notcutt House

NW1, Dorset Square, 35

The plaque would be more accurate were it placed at number 38 which was the house destroyed by the bomb. In 1950 numbers 35-38 were later...

4 subjects commemorated
Chelsea Temperance Society - Dauncey

Chelsea Temperance Society - Dauncey

SW3, Pond Place, 23

There are two stone plaques either side of the entrance, low on the wall, and two, rather classier, plaques in the entrance lobby. Readi...

1 subject commemorated, 1 creator