Plaque

Old church - Stanmore

Erection date: 17/7/1992

Inscription

St John the Evangelist Great Stanmore
On 17 July 1632 William Laud Bishop of London consecrated this church where the people of Stanmore worshipped for over 200 years. This building was left to become a ruin when the new church was built in 1850. Repairs in 1991-2 were funded by St John’s Church; the people of Stanmore, public donations, Harrow Heritage Trust; English Heritage.
On 17 July 1992 David Hope Bishop of London led prayers of thanksgiving for the conservation of the church.
Prebendary Michael H. V. Bowles – Rector

Michael S. Oliver, Ronald E. Price – Churchwardens
Dr. Frederick N. Hicks – Chairman Old Church Appeal
Carob & Partners – Architects
Hibbitt & Sons - Stonemasons

MyLondon informs: "{The old church} gained Grade II listed status in 1951. In 1989, renovation began, with English Heritage providing financial support. In 1991, with sufficient funds promised, the builders and masons moved in. On the 360th anniversary a special service was held inside the ruin." We think that's when the plaque was erected.

Site: Old church - Stanmore (1 memorial)

HA7, Uxbridge Road, St John the Evangelist, Stanmore

The plaque is just inside the ruin, near a locked gate in the south-facing wall. Nearby a modern notice lists the dates on which the building can be visited.

St John's Church gives the history of this ruined church and the current one beside it. But there was an even earlier church. A 14th century church of St. Mary  used to stand about a mile to the south, near the Wolverton Road bridge. This was abandoned in 1632 and replaced with St John's, now the ruin on Uxbridge Road. When a larger one was needed in 1850 it was built beside the previous one, which was to be demolished. But local opposition was strong so the destruction was halted, leaving the ruin we have today.

In our researches, when a new church is needed it is normally built on the site of the old one. But they've done things differently in Stanmore, twice.

Comments are provided by Facebook, please ensure you are signed in here to see them

This section lists the subjects commemorated on the memorial on this page:
Old church - Stanmore

Subjects commemorated i

Michael H. V. Bowles

Rector at Old church - Stanmore in 1992.

Read More

Dr Frederick N. Hicks

Long term resident of Stanmore. From HADAS "Dr Frederick Hicks is a retired G...

Read More

William Laud, Archbishop of Canterbury

Born Reading. 1628 became Bishop of London. 1633 became Archbishop of Canterb...

Read More

This section lists the subjects who helped to create/erect the memorial on this page:
Old church - Stanmore

Created by i

Carob & Partners

Architects active in 1992.

Read More

English Heritage

English Heritage (officially the English Heritage Trust) is a charity that ma...

Read More

Harrow Heritage Trust

A trust set up with the objectives of encouraging artists and architects of b...

Read More

Hibbitt & Sons

Stonemasons working in Stanmore in 1992.

Read More

David Hope, Bishop of London

1992  Bishop of London 1991-5. 2005 created a life peer, Baron Hope of Thorne...

Read More

Show all 7

Nearby Memorials

Islington Tunnel - east - lost

Islington Tunnel - east - lost

N1, Grand Union Canal near Colebrooke Row

Two points about the wording on this plaque. 'Navies' were the men who built the canals which were known as 'navigations'. They moved a...

2 subjects commemorated, 2 creators
Sir Arthur Bliss

Sir Arthur Bliss

NW3, East Heath Road, 1, East Heath Lodge

English Heritage Sir Arthur Bliss, 1891 - 1975, composer, lived here, 1929 - 1939.

1 subject commemorated, 1 creator
Chelsea Firefighters

Chelsea Firefighters

SW3, King’s Road, 264, Chelsea Fire Station

This plaque is in the same style as others erected by Firemen Remembered, although they are not acknowledged on the plaque itself.

Civilian war dead | WW2
14 subjects commemorated, 1 creator
St Martin's Gardens

St Martin's Gardens

NW1, St Martin's Gardens, Camden Street

The plaques are just inside the gates, on the wall behind the pillar. The gravestones littering this park and its name suggest that it us...

8 subjects commemorated, 2 creators
Dame Myra Hess

Dame Myra Hess

NW11, Wildwood Road, 48

English Heritage Dame Myra Hess, 1890 - 1965, pianist, lived here.

1 subject commemorated, 1 creator

Previously viewed

H. W. Day

H. W. Day

Co-partner or employee of the South Suburban Gas Company. Served but did not die in WW1.

Person, Armed Forces

War served, WW1
1 memorial
A. Hobbs

A. Hobbs

One of the employees of Watney Combe Reid brewers who lost their lives in WW1.

Person

War dead, WW1
1 memorial
A. Budd
War dead, WW1
1 memorial
J. W. Bell

J. W. Bell

Resident of Willesden who volunteered and died in the Anglo Boer War, 1899-1900.

Person, Armed Forces, South Africa

War dead, Other war
1 memorial
W. Howard
War dead, WW1
1 memorial