Builders active 1890 - 1912 at least, initially as Mattock Bros, and based in Wood Green at one point. This image comes from the 1909 Book of the Exhibition of Houses and Cottages, Romford Garden Suburb, Gidea Park. This is a quality publication with many lovely drawings of the houses and a charming map - do have a look.
This section lists the memorials where the subject on this page is commemorated:
Mattock & Parsons
Commemorated ati
Hornsey Central Hospital - foundation stone, 1907
To the glory of God and for the healing for the poor this stone was laid on 7...
Other Subjects
Tallow Chandlers Hall
In 1476 the Tallow Chandlers bought what was probably a merchant’s house on Dowgate Hill and used that as their Hall. The Hall was destroyed in the Great Fire of 1666 and rebuilt 1671-3. Damaged ...
Northumberland House - Charing Cross
Sited just to the east of Charing Cross and Nelson's column, where Northumberland Avenue and Waterstones now (2024) are, the picture source, Wikipedia, has a very useful map, but there we also read...
Norwich Place / York House
Built as the town house of the bishops of Norwich. At the dissolution of the monasteries in 1536 King Henry VIII and Charles Brandon, Duke of Suffolk exchanged properties: Suffolk gave up Suffolk H...
William Bell
Chairman of the GLC Historic Building Committee, 1977 - 1981. British Universities Film and Video Council have an 1979 audio file: "Interview with William Bell, Chairman of the Historic Building C...
Old Change
City street dating from 1293. Its name derives from the King's Exchange, where the bullion was stored for making coins.
Previously viewed
Dora Montefiore
Suffragist, socialist, poet, and autobiographer. Served on executive of the NUWSS and then joined WSPU and Women’s Tax Resistance League, whose members refused to pay taxes. Born as Dorothy France...
Comments are provided by Facebook, please ensure you are signed in here to see them